Moving On

Moving from one place to another is inevitably more difficult and stressful than expected, no matter the distance.

This week, Austin and I moved from our apartment in Warren to the next town over to live with his dad and brother for the summer.  Our lease was up and we figured crashing somewhere temporarily – and saving money on rent – would be the best decision.

The last few days have been hectic, stressful and disorienting, as we’ve haphazardly packed our belongings, dropped a good deal of stuff we no longer needed at Salvation Army and attempted to cram our four-room apartment into a tiny bedroom for the time being.  Needless to say, the process was exhausting and it’s going to take some time before I feel grounded again.

Despite feeling out of sorts, I also feel a renewed energy to start making changes in my life, namely, to live more simply and become healthier.  In an attempt to make these changes happen and to hopefully inspire others to make small changes in their own lives, I’ve outlined a few of my goals:

1. Get rid of stuff: This includes clothes I rarely wear, books I’ve never read (and probably won’t for a while), kitchen items I never use (and likely don’t even know how to use) and miscellaneous items that I just shouldn’t be holding on to.  I’ve already donated bags of clothes, shoes and handbags and boxes of kitchen utensils and cookware to Salvation Army.  I’ve downsized a lot, which feels refreshing, but I know I can get rid of even more stuff and truly be living minimally.

2.  Think twice about purchases. All too often, we go to the market to and buy food items that we NEVER end up using, or that we use a little of for a specific recipe and put it in the depths of the fridge never to be seen again.  When we had to clean out our apartment this week, we must have emptied over 10 bottles and jars of condiments like salad dressings and sauces that sadly wasted away.  To rectify this, I’m going to be more diligent about making grocery lists and buying only what we need and know we are going to use.  We already utilize our local farmers’ markets for fresh produce and other homemade foods that we know we won’t waste.

3. Stick to an exercise routine. I’ve always been a runner and love to stay active, but within the past year I’ve definitely let myself get extremely lazy.  Transitioning into a new place has inspired me to get active and start eating healthier.   I just acquired a new bicycle to start riding after work and am going to start waking up at least an hour earlier each day to go for a morning walk or run to start the day.

None of these goals will happen overnight, but by making small, gradual changes over the course of the next few months, I will be living lighter.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

